Owl say.

Gap.com: Fitted boyfriend popover shirt, owl print

You are looking at Gap’s fitted boyfriend popover shirt in owl print, sold out almost everywhere. Paired with dark denim or tucked into a pair of tailored shorts, this 100% cotton, long-sleeved popover has the look of a boy shirt with a slimmer fit and whimsical print. I found this tomato-colored shirt while perusing Gap.com last night. While I wasn’t crazy about the color, I did like the print, since I heart owls. When I say that I heart owls, I mean that I’ve loved owls since I was a little girl. One would think I’d be thrilled with all the cute owl things that are everywhere now that they’re so “in.” Not so. The problem with this is that since owls are all the rage right now, all the cute owl things are readily snatched up before I can always get to them.

This adorable popover shirt was no different. Back to my story. Last night, I found this shirt online and decided I liked the style enough to purchase it, despite its $49.95 price tag. I found it in my size and promptly added it to my shopping cart. Gap brands is currently offering a 30% off promotion ending 9/3, so I began browsing Piperlime’s shoe picks, trying to find a new pair of ankle booties, a fall staple. After little success, I returned to my shopping cart, prepared to enter the promotion code and check out. Didn’t happen. Did you know that they can take things away from you?! Oh yes…they can! Apparently while I was shoe shopping, the shirt was removed from my cart due to “high volume” and “demand.” Fine. I went back to the item and tried to add it to my cart. Out of stock. Okay, WHAT?!

The shirt was not to be found anywhere online: not Amazon nor eBay (my last resorts). So I am currently pet-sitting at a friend’s house in a Greensboro suburb. I don’t know the area, so I used the store locator to find the nearest Gap store. I headed over this afternoon and saw that it was sold out in all sizes. I tried it on in a different print, hoping I’d hate the fit and not feel so bad about losing out. Didn’t happen. It was adorable. Finally, I resigned to asking the sales associates if they would mind checking for it at another location. Unfortunately, without having a single shirt in stock at the store, they needed to call Gap.com for the style number. Didn’t happen. The style was completely sold out online. Luckily, the nice lady, Sharon, tried calling a lower volume store which did have the shirt in a different size. She was able to obtain the style number and look at the nationwide inventory. She located it in a size small in 3 stores: Baltimore, MD; somewhere in Georgia; and Beaver Creek, OH. She tried Beaver Creek first, and to my surprise, Gretchen, the sales associate, was able to find it!

Thanks to Sharon and Gretchen, I now have the adorable fitted boyfriend popover shirt in owl print on its way to my apartment, and I cannot wait to wear it tucked in with these adorable Perfect Khaki Shorts in Ink Blue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

